Mayor and deputy Mayors

The political majority (Social Democratic Party (S), Green Party (MP) and Left Party (V)) has a Mayor and five deputy Mayors:

• Marlene Burwick (S)
• Maria Gardfjell (MP)
• Ilona Szatmari Waldau (V)
• Erik Pelling (S)
• Caroline Andersson (S)
• Rickard Malmström (MP)

The political opposition (Conservative party (M), Liberal party (L), Centre party (C) and Christian Democrats (KD) has five deputy Mayors:
• Fredrik Ahlstedt (M)
• Marta Obminska (M)
• Mohamad Hassan (L)
• Stefan Hanna (C)
• Jonas Segersam (KD)

The City Council

If the City Executive Board functions as Uppsala's government, the City Council can be thought of as the city's parliament. The City Council convenes once a month and their meetings are open to the general public. The 81 councillors are appointed following general elections held at the same time as the parliamentary and county elections. The City Council establishes goals and guidelines for the overall work of the city. The matters in which councillors decide have generally been drafted and discussed by various boards and committees in advance. Once political decisions are deferred for practical implementation, the employees of the City administrations and companies take over.

The Presidency of the City Council

Carl Lindberg (S) – Chair of the City Council
Alf Karlsson (MP) – Deputy Chair of the City Council
Magnus Åkerman (M) – Deputy Chair of the City Council

The City Executive Board

The City Executive Board consists of 15 members who represent both the majority and the opposition. The City Executive Board can be thought of as the government of Uppsala; it expresses an opinion in all matters decided by the City Council and bears the overall responsibility for the follow-up, evaluation and execution of its decisions. The Board is also responsible for the City's financial administration and long-term development. Meetings of the Board are not open to the general public.